About the Behavioral Health Board

The Behavioral Health Board of the County of Santa Clara is composed of members of the community at large, clients and family members of clients of the behavioral health system. The board’s mission and duties are established in the Welfare & Institutions Code 5604.2 and county law (see Chapter VII, Sections A18 – 141 and A18 - 142). The duties include: review and evaluation of the community’s behavioral health needs, facilities and special problems; advising the Board of Supervisors and the County behavioral health director as to any aspect of the County behavioral health program; and, submitting an annual report to the Board of Supervisors on the needs and performance of the County’s Behavioral Health System.

  • Act as a forum for clients, families and other constituents about the needs and quality of services for the mentally ill.
  • Work with the director and staff of the Mental Health Department as an advisor to provide input for planning programs and budgets prior to final decisions.
  • Provide to the Board of Supervisors an annual report of the Department of Mental Health. Communicate to the Board of Supervisors as necessary in an ongoing dialogue.
  • Make specific recommendations to assist the Board of Supervisors in making decisions concerning mental health services.
  • Collect, review, and evaluate information about delivery of care for the mentally ill provided by the Mental Health Department in order to understand and evaluate services to clients that promote recovery, maintenance and return to the community.
  • Promote outreach and education about mental health services.
  • As informed stakeholders, communicate pertinent information leading to desired public policy outcomes at local, state and federal levels.
  • Gain an understanding of the etiology, diagnosis, treatment, and advancements in the field of mental health.
  • Recognize people and organizations that have contributed to mental health.​​

Board Membership Information

Supervisor Sylvia Arenas
Supervisor Sylvia Arenas






Gary T. Miles, Chair
Gary T. Miles
June Rumiko Klein


Mary Crocker Cook, 2nd Vice Chair
Mary Crocker Cook 
Mariana Moles
Marianna Moles
Alexandros Tsobanoudis





Thomas Jurgensen
Thomas Jurgensen
Joel Wolfberg



Sigrid Pinsky
Sigrid Pinsky
David H Tran
David H Tran
Anne Baumgarten, Chair









Jimmy Liang 

David Cortright

David Cortright

Candace DeCou

Richard Loftus

Richard Loftus, Vice Chair

Behavioral Health Board Liaison Team

Website: www.sccbhsd.org/bhb

BHB Liaison Team
Behavioral Health Services Administration
828 South Bascom Avenue, Suite 200
San Jose, CA 95128
Email: [email protected]​​​​

©2023 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.